Types of Fluids

fluids are of two types they are Newtonian fluids and Non-Newtonian fluidsFluids are defined as substance that flow or deform under the applied shear stress. Fluid has no definite shape of its own. It assumes the shape of its container. Liquids and gases are known as fluids.

Depending on the behavior of fluids, fluids are divided into two types. They are

  • Newtonian Fluid
  • Non-Newtonian Fluid

The above mentioned types of fluids are discussed under in brief.

Newtonian Fluid:

Fluids that obey Newton law of viscosity are known as Newtonian Fluids.
Newton law of viscosity states that the shear stress on a fluid element layer is directly proportional to the rate of shear strain.
Examples of Newtonian fluids: water, air, kerosene.

Non-Newtonian Fluid:

Fluids that doesn’t obey Newton law of viscosity are known as Non-Newtonian fluids. These fluids are the opposite of Newtonian fluids.
Examples of Non-Newtonian fluids : colloids, thick slurry, emulsions.

Spread the Knowledge

'ME Mechanical' is an online portal for mechanical engineers and engineering students. Published hundreds of articles on various engineering topics. Visit our about section to know more.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.